Indiana Policyholders: Notice to policyholders recently affected by severe weather. 

mcandrews award

NCMIC Foundation Announces McAndrews' Award Recipient

The NCMIC Foundation announced Cynthia English is the 2019 recipient of the Jerome F. McAndrews, DC, Memorial Research Fund Award.

The presentation of the award was made on March 15, 2019, at the Association of Chiropractic Colleges Educational Conference and Research Agenda Conference (ACC-RAC).

Ms. English was recommended for this award for:

  • Advancing the exchange of information
  • Promoting high ethical standards in research
  • Researching the current public opinion about chiropractic
  • Advancing the information available to the public and the chiropractic profession

Ms. English was part of the three-year Gallup organization study, 2018 Gallup-Palmer College of Chiropractic Annual Report: Managing Neck and Back Pain in America. As a result of Ms. English’s involvement, the chiropractic profession was able to glean meaningful data and valuable insight about consumers’ perceptions of chiropractic care.

The report highlighted the extent that neck and back pain affects American adults. Nearly two-thirds (65%) of consumers reported seeing a healthcare professional for significant neck or back pain at some point in their lives. The report also detailed Americans’ preferences for neck and back pain care providers and the prevalence of various treatments. According to the report, roughly one-fourth of U.S. adults said they saw a chiropractor within the past five years. 

The Jerome F. McAndrews, DC, Memorial Research Fund was created by the NCMIC Foundation and made possible by contributions from Dr. McAndrews’ family and colleagues. Dr. McAndrews’ longtime support of the scientific and practical advancement of the study of chiropractic was recognized in the creation of this award. 

Past recipients of this award are: Brent David Leininger, DC, MS (2018), William Weeks, MD, PhD, MBA (2016), North Carolina Employee Health Plan Research Study Group (2015), Robert Mootz, DC (2014), James Whedon, DC, MS (2013), Pierre Côté, DC, PhD (2011), Deborah Kopansky-Giles, DC (2010), Sidney Rubinstein, DC, PhD (2009) and Simon Dagenais, DC, PhD (2008).

For more information about the Foundation, please email Or, go to to make a contribution. For information on the Gallup Poll, visit

This website uses first party and third party cookies to improve your experience and anonymously track site visits. By visiting this website, you opt-in to the use of cookies. OK